iamknit

xtina’s complusions to obsessively knit

In the beginning… June 2, 2007

Filed under: Baby Knits,Birthday Presents,WIP — iamknit @ 6:39 pm

There’s nothing worse than a knitting blog without pictures (or at least I think so).

I decided I would begin with my current WIP, just a couple of things I’m working on right now-and that have a due date!

Recently (January) my god daughter, baby g, was born. Immediately after I found out my cousin was pregnant, I setup to find the cutest baby knits EVER. I started at my LYS and eventually (after months and months) came up with this:

Baby G’s dress

I really love how it came out, eventhough it took forever. It’s from a Dalegran baby book. Here’s the thing, it seems everyone else likes it too! My mom was showing it to someone at her office, who is about to have a granddaughter, and HAS TO have one for her. So, naturally, my mom volunteered my knitting services.

For a moment, please indulge me in a rant: It seems that people who request knitted items never realize just how much work goes into something. This dress for instance took literally months, it’s knit on size 2 circulars and the CO for the skirt is 278 stitches. Needless to say, after I finished it, I wasn’t planning on making another. OK, rant complete.

This soon to be grandmother wanted the dress in white and pink and she wants it for July. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

Dalegran baby dress

Needless to say, I’ve got a loooooooooooong road ahead of me.

In the meantime, my best friend from college’s birthday is next Sunday. For my birthday, back in February, she gave me Tracey Ullman’s Knit Two Together, which I not so subtly hinted about 🙂 When we were looking through it, she mentioned that she really liked the Doctor’s bag, so I thought, hey, that’s the perfect thing to make her for her birthday.

Now here birthday is a week away and not only am I behind but I just realized I’m going to have to frog the bottom and start again. For the sake of price, I sacrificed gauge and I miss calculated the bottom length.

K2T Doctor’s Bag

Alright, I think that’s it for today. I need to get some knitting in before I go out tonight (for a Bachelorette party, YAY!)

 

Leave a Reply

