iamknit

xtina’s complusions to obsessively knit

Yard sale knits and stash organization July 15, 2007

Filed under: Stash — iamknit @ 10:14 pm

When I went to my parent’s house for breakfast this morning my mom presented me with this:

cover

A McCall’s knitting and crochet magazine from 1981; before I was even born! She bought it for a quarter at a yard sale. Pretty cool, huh? It’s really intriguing to look a what knits were popular over 25 years ago, just how much has changed and even what has stayed the same.

There are definitely some questionable designs in there such as these…

inside1inside2

…but there are also a few things I’d consider making

inside3 inside4

The gray sweater would be great for the New England fall-possibly in a different color. I like the idea of the green sweater (minus the plastic purple pin at the top) but I would probably alter the neckline, maybe a scoop neck, and 3/4 length sleeves.

Plus, look at all the hotties in this book 🙂 It’s worth looking through just for the eye candy alone!

I also spent several hours today organizing my stash. I have yarn all over the place in my apartment; most of it is just thrown into bags any place I could fit it. I decided it was time to get organized and get everything into sealed bags. Here’s what about 2/3 of it looked like on my couch:

Stash 1

Then I had to figure out where to put it all. I wanted to avoid putting any of it back underneath my side table next to the couch so here’s the temporary solution:

Stash 2

Now I just need to complete the final 1/3!

I’m off to Detroit Rock City tomorrow for a meeting-you know what that means!?- up to 6 hours of in transit knitting time. Hooray!

 

Leave a Reply

