iamknit

xtina’s complusions to obsessively knit

The deal of a lifetime! July 29, 2007

Filed under: New Purchases — iamknit @ 9:07 am

I know I promised a FO for my next post but I just couldn’t wait.

In lieu of the finished jumper I thought a picture of the recipient would do. Here’s Gianna on Friday while I was babysitting(she has recently discovered her feet):

Baby G

I’m still determined to finish it this weekend so pictures are in the very near future.

Also on Friday, I got a haircut. I love it! Back in February I donated 13 inches of hair to Locks of Love and now I’m in the process of growing it again. Here’s my new haircut and my new haircut wearing my (still un-re-blocked) Witterings hat:

New Haircut

Unblocked Witterings

Now onto my REAL news:
I went to my LYS yesterday to pick up some needles for my mom-it’s literally 150 yards from my house. I noticed that her inventory was lower than usual but I thought: maybe she’s just making room for fall. It turns out the woman that owns the store got a new job and the store was bought. It’s still going to be a yarn store (YAY!)

Then it happened I was offered the DEAL OF A LIFETIME: as a good customer to the store I was offered 75% off anything in the store if I spent $500. This means that I would get $2000 worth of yarn for $500. She told me I could come back anytime but the store hours are very limited until the takeover happens. I thought about it for about a minute and then decided to do it.

I know that most non-knitters will/do think I’m crazy but for everyone that is a knitter-you know you’d do the same thing!

Here’s the yarn I bought:
-2 skeins Louet Euroflax Linen tan
-3 skeins Louet Euroflax Linen off white
-9 skeins Reynolds Garden Tweed Navy/Sky Blue/Tan
-16 skeins Reynolds Garden Tweed Red/Off-White/Tan
-6 skeins Queensland Collection Invito Blue/Purple/Black
-14 skeins Berroco Touche Black
-2 skeins Sheep Shop Yarn Company Sheep Number Two Dark Olive Green
-13 skeins Debbie Bliss Cathay Olive Green
-20 skeins Noro Cash Iroha Denim Blue
-10 skeins Misti Cotton Pima Cotton/Silk Worsted Weight Purple
-9 skeins Louet Euroflax Linen Navy Blue
-1 skein Great Adirondak Yarn Company,Inc Silky Sock Avacado Green and Bright Pink
-20 skeins Cascade 220 Off White
-18 skeins Reynolds Whiskey Plum
-14 skeins Atacama 100% Alpaca Turquoise
-18 skeins Reynolds Rapture Forest Green
-10 skeins Cascade Lana Grande Red
-14 skeins Cascade 200 Periwinkle
-13 skeins Noro Cash Iroha Magenta
-20 skeins Berroco Peruvia Navy Blue
-20 skeins Berroco Ultra Alpaca Brown
-5 skeins Berroco Suede Red

I also bought two books, she gave me over $175 worth of single patterns and Berroco booklets for free and threw in the needles that I went in for originally.

Remember I said I needed to go on a yarn diet?

 

4 Responses to “The deal of a lifetime!”

  1. danielle Says:

    that is a lot of thread.
    i expect a hat.

  2. iamknit Says:

    🙂 Do you have any fiber restrictions I should know about?

  3. grace Says:

    Deal of a Lifetime is right!!! Enjoy all that yarny goodness!

  4. Denise Says:

    If you ever decide you need a good home for the 10 skeins of red Lana Grande, please let me know. Thanks.


Leave a Reply

