iamknit

xtina’s complusions to obsessively knit

Decisions…decisions… July 28, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — iamknit @ 10:43 pm

On Friday, I attended the TKGA’s Summer Knit and Crochet Show in Manchester, NH. I took a class and learned how do to Continental knitting. I had tried to teach myself, from a book, how to do it before but it was much better to actually learn from someone how to do it the correct way.

The major difference between Continental versus American/English knitting is the hand you hold the yarn in:

American:
how-to-knit-12a

Continental:
how-to-knit-13a

Here’s the great thing about this (other than being able to knit a lot quicker): I can now, successfully, do fair isle knitting (knitting with different colors). I was trying to find a fair isle pattern I wanted to try; I found something and I already have the yarn for it.

I’m taking a vote:

I originally bought yarn to make his sweater. I saw this sweater at the first knitter’s breakfast I attended and I thought it was the best thing EVER but now I look at it and think, eh:

PrinDuchSlStPOlarge_2

but I think I might want to make this vest instead:
Nederland-Vest-2

The colors I have are turquoise for the main color and then lime green, hunter green, navy and white for accent colors.

Comical Continental knitting swatches coming in my next post!

The Negative Knitter

 

3 Responses to “Decisions…decisions…”

  1. rebecca Says:

    i kind of love that sweater too.. that is my vote.

  2. Rachel Says:

    Vest.

  3. Melissa Says:

    What if you took the sweater and instead of using the colorway for the sweater, you inserted the fair isle design in it across the bust? Keep the shape of the sweater, just put the fair isle in? Then you could have the best of both worlds.


Leave a Reply

